‘Gluten free is just a phase?!’ – what to avoid and what to eat

Having a gluten intolerance is hard work. Who knew so many foods have gluten in? Bread = gluten! Cakes = gluten! CHEESE AND CRACKERS. AH MY WEAKNESS. I love a good plate of cheese and crackers on a night. Wow, I sound like I am 90.

I haven’t actually been diagnosed with a gluten intolerance but it all started out when I was diagnosed with IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) a couple of years ago.

It is a common, long term condition that affects the digestive system and it can cause bouts of stomach cramps, bloating, changes in your bowel habits and cramping. Fun, eh?

The symptoms of IBS are usually worse after eating and tend to come and go in episodes.

However I realised that certain foods were upsetting me more than others, which is why I decided to follow my GP’s advice and go on a gluten free diet, and boy has it helped me.

I realised that one of my food weaknesses was bread, but there are some great gluten free bread options on the market.

I really love the Genius sliced white bread which is available from most supermarkets. Oh, and Tesco’s ‘Free From’ gluten and wheat fish fingers are really tasty too. Red or brown sauce though…the choice is yours!

I didn’t realise how much supermarkets dedicate specific sections to intolerances. Most supermarkets have their own Free From section, which includes products that are free from gluten, wheat, milk and egg, so that people who have ‘special diets’ are not missing out on the foods they love.

Even though gluten free foods are more expensive. Take your normal Warburtons loaf of bread which retails for around £1.00. The genius loaves of bread are £2.70…but it’s worth it I suppose, especially if it relieves IBS symptoms.

Having a gluten intolerance also made me realise how fun cooking can be! The recipe to my extraordinary gluten free fairy cakes will be up soon…don’t you worry!

Until next time,

K x

Leave a Reply

